T.C. Williams Seniors Honored by C-SPAN for Documentary Film

Three T.C. Williams High School seniors, Jonathan Ibarra, Drew Jones and Rubaiyat Rhidoy, were recognized by C-SPAN for their documentary film, “The Cost of Justice,” which explores the failings of the for-profit prison model.

The filmmakers received certificates of merit and a $250 prize at a ceremony during which their documentary was screened by an audience that included Mayor Allison Silberberg, Philip Davis, a constituent liaison for the office of U.S. Rep. Don Beyer (D-8), parents, staff and others.

The film was produced as an entry in C-SPAN’s StudentCam contest, which encourages middle and high school students to think critically about issues that affect our communities and nation. Students were asked to create a 5-7 minute video documentary about the topic “Road to the White House: What’s the issue YOU most want candidates to discuss during the 2016 presidential campaign?” In response, C‑SPAN received 2,887 video submissions from almost 6,000 students in 45 states and Washington, DC. The T.C. Williams team received an honorable mention for their film.

View the T.C. Williams students’ documentary, The Cost of Justice.

ACPS, Alexandria City High School, Awards, Video