ACPS Welcomes New Hires for New Organizational Structure

Dear ACPS Parents, Guardians and Community Members,

I would like to extend a warm welcome to all new Central Office and school administrators and those who have been reassigned into new administrator positions. 

ACPS has welcomed a series of new senior leaders this month who will fulfill the new roles established through the organizational restructuring announced in January 2020.

Under the new organizational structure, ACPS has a new chief of staff, who oversees both the Department of Human Resources and the Department of Facilities and Operations. ACPS also welcomes a new chief of school and community relations, who will help combine the Office of Communications and the Office of Community Partnerships and Engagement under one umbrella.

The restructure also sees the creation of four new executive director positions and a number of director positions.

The organizational restructuring — intended to make the school division more dynamic, more accountable, and with a more streamlined leadership hierarchy — was announced in January 2020. The goal is to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the division and its leadership.  It will also support the fulfillment of the goals outlined in the newly adopted 2025 Strategic Plan: Equity for All. The restructuring came into effect at the beginning of the 2020-21 fiscal year, with the exception of the reorganization of the Department of Facilities and Operations, which was restructured with immediate effect in January 2020. 

In addition to the reorganization, last month ACPS announced new principals for Charles Barrett Elementary School and Douglas MacArthur Elementary School and a transformational head of school for Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 IB School. The school division is in the process of recruiting a principal to lead George Mason Elementary School.

This proposed organizational structure will improve organizational efficiency and effectiveness as well as better align our work to support the school division including schools, students, families and the community. It will also narrow the superintendent’s span of control, better support interdepartmental collaboration, and increase the focus on strategic planning efforts at the senior executive level.



Dr. Gregory C. Hutchings, Jr.
Superintendent of Schools

Welcome to our ACPS school administrators:

Loren Brody
Charles Barrett Elementary School

Penny Hairston
Douglas MacArthur Elementary School

Dr. John McCain
Transformational Head of School
Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 IB School

Dr. Seazante` Oliver
Acting Principal
George Mason Elementary School

Welcome to our ACPS administration team:

Dr. John Baker
Director of School Psychology
Department of Student Services and Equity

Julia A. Burgos
Chief of School and Community Relations
Department of School and Community Relations

Timothy “Michael” Carson
Director of Employee Engagement and Relations
Department of Human Resources

John Contreras
Director of Safety and Security Services
Department of Facilities and Operations

Emily Dillard
Director of Instructional Technology
Department of Technology Services

John Finnigan
Acting Director of Educational Facilities
Department of Facilities and Operations

Sandra Hardeman
Director of Recruitment and Retention
Department of Human Resources

Dr. Alicia Hart
Acting Executive Director of Facilities and Operations
Department of Facilities and Operations

Kurt Huffman
Executive Director of Community Partnerships and Engagement
Office of Community Relations and Engagement

Dr. Kynai Johnson
Director of School Social Work
Department of Student Services and Equity

Helen Lloyd
Executive Director of Communications
Office of Communications

Dr. Gerald Mann, Jr.
Executive Director of Instructional Support
Department of Teaching, Learning and Leadership

Dyanna McMullen
Acting Director of Procurement
Department of Financial Services

Dr. Elaine McSorley-Gerard
Director of School Health Services
Department of Student Services and Equity

E. Scott Merriman
Director of Pupil Transportation and Fleet Management
Department of Facilities and Operations

Darrell Sampson
Executive Director of Student Support Teams
Department of Student Services and Equity

Dr. Stephen Wilkins
Chief of Staff
Department of Facilities and Operations
Department of Human Resources

Kennetra N. Wood
Executive Director of Equity and Alternative Programs
Department of Student Services and Equity

ACPS, Announcements, News Release