School Board Recognizes Outstanding Principals and Teacher

en español (PDF) | አማርኛ (PDF) | بالعربية (PDF)

The School Board celebrated academic leadership in Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) at its May 5, 2022, meeting. The honorees included 2021-22 ACPS Principal of the Year Michael Routhouska of William Ramsay Elementary School; 2021-22 ACPS Teacher of the Year Alexandra Bender, who teaches first grade at John Adams Elementary School; Samuel W. Tucker Elementary School Principal Rene Paschal, who was selected as a National Distinguished Principal of the Year by the Virginia Association of Elementary School Principals (VAESP); and Cora Kelly School for Math, Science and Technology Assistant Principal Dr. Lauren Holthaus, who was selected by VAESP and the National Association of Elementary School Principals as the National Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year.

Videos of each of the four award recipients that showcased their accomplishments within the division are available online.